BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival 2017 Programming Unveiled

When I added the Events Calendar to The Chronicles Of Piercing Ken, I wanted to not only list events like the ones below, but to also speak about their value in narratives if at all possible. Just the other day, the full lineup of the Free and Pay To Attend concerts at the Prospect Park Bandshell were unveiled as a part of the BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival 2017. Take a look at the offerings and compare them against your own monthly calendar.

The Events:
Wednesday, June 7:

Opening Night Concert: Lake Street Dive

Saturday, June 10:
Alice Smith | Bilal | Kris Bowers

Thursday, June 15;
The Shins
BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival Benefit Concert: SOLD OUT

Saturday, June 17:
Family Concert: Lisa Loeb with The Knights

Thursday, June 22:
Yeasayer | Poliça | Cymbals Eat Guitars

Friday, June 23:
Pharoah Sanders | Brooklyn Raga Massive: Coltrane Tribute

Saturday, June 24:
The Soul Rebels featuring Talib Kweli| Pharoahe Monch + Kirk Knight | Goapele | Natasha Diggs of #Soulinthehorn

Thursday, June 29:
Lila Downs | Orkesta Mendoza

Friday, June 30:
Garth Fagan Dance

Thursday, July 6:
Pilobolus

Friday, July 7:
Musiq Soulchild | People’s Champs

Saturday, July 8:
Chronixx | Chop + Quench | Laolu NYC

Thursday, July 13:
Robert Randolph + The Family Band | Eric Krasno

Friday, July 14:
Quantic (Live) | Tei Shi | Álex Anwandter

Saturday, July 15:
Ben L’Oncle Soul | Sweet Crude

Tuesday, July 18:
Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Bryce Dessner + James McAlister: Planetarium
BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival Benefit Concert

Thursday, July 20:
Conor Oberst | Hop Along| Big Thief
BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival Benefit Concert

Friday, July 21:
Amadou + Mariam | Innov Gnawa | Ahmed Gallab DJ Set

Saturday, July 22:
Mashrou’ Leila | Dawn of Midi | DJ Khatir

Wednesday, July 26:
Sylvan Esso | Middle Kids
BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival Benefit Concert

Thursday, July 27:
Music + Movies: Maciste All’Inferno with live score by Sexmob | Reverend Billy + The Stop Shopping Choir

Friday, July 28:
Andrew Bird | Esperanza Spalding

Saturday, July 29:
Admiral T | Tabou Combo| DJ Spike T.I.

Tuesday, August 1 + Wednesday, August 2:
Fleet Foxes
BRIC Celebrate Brooklyn! Festival Benefit Concert

Thursday, August 3:
Béla Fleck + The Flecktones | Nellie McKay

Friday, August 4:
Music + Movies: “Creed” with live score by Wordless Music Orchestra | Frank Haye + The Brooklyn Interdenominational Choir

Saturday, August 5:
Nels Cline: Lovers | Sam Amidon

Thursday, August 10:
Music + Movies: “Selma” with live score by Jason Moran + Wordless Music Orchestra | Brooklyn United Marching Band

Friday, August 11:
Whitney | Weyes Blood | Moses Sumney

Saturday, August 12:
Youssou N’Dour | Yacouba Sissoko

PiercingKen Sez: I’ve only ever been to a couple of these events since there isn’t that much Hard Rock or Metal for me to get psyched about but that is just me and my personal preference. I know several people who love every single event of this festival and if it wasn’t for our good friend in the Blogosphere Skeleton Pete, I would have never had the chance to do my first write-up ever for the legendary David Byrne (from The Talking Heads). You can check that article out on PiercingMetal.com if you’d like to see it by clicking on THIS LINK. There is quite a diverse lineup to this concert series and please Know that even the shows that are free have a suggested donation to enter. I’d say leave at least a $5 or $10 bill since you are helping to keep the process running into the future and you don’t want to see good stuff ending in NYC. IMHO that is more than fair. What do you readers of da Blog think of these listings? You can let me know in the comments section below. I’m going to try and enter some of them on the calendar but right now as you read this I have a mountain sized pile of to do for PiercingMetal.com – I will suggest if you plan on going to any of the events that you get there nice and early to get the best possible space and perhaps even enjoy some of this beautiful park. It’s quite a sight. See you next time.

Official Website: https://www.prospectpark.org/news-events/events/

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: